Log in

  Association of Teacher Educators

Robert F. Schuck Distinguished Dissertation in Teacher
Education (DDTE) Award

Supported by the Robert A. Roth Memorial Fund  

The Association of Teacher Educators announces its annual competition for the Distinguished Dissertation in Teacher Education (DDTE) award. The intent of the award is to encourage, recognize, and promote exemplary doctoral level research that substantially contributes to the improvement of teacher education. The DDTE recipient receives a monetary award supported through a grant from the ATE Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education. Special recognition is also extended to the professor that directed the dissertation.

This award was established in 1998 in honor of Robert A. Roth, who served as ATE Past President (1983-84). Rob worked for Michigan State Education Department and was closely aligned with promoting standards and assessment of teaching and learning.

Submission deadline for the award to be presented at the Annual Meeting has been extended to September 30, 2023

Who May Enter?

Any person having completed a doctoral dissertation at an accredited college or university within the past two years.

Criteria for Applicants:

  • The dissertation must be directly related to teacher education.
  • Authors need not be active members of ATE.
  • The research reported must have been completed within the past two years previous to this submission.
  • Entries must include name, title, institution, mailing address (including summer address if different), telephone number, fax number, and e-mail address.
  • Entries must include a separate letter of support from the director of the dissertation that clearly states completion of the doctoral degree prior to May 15 of the submission year.
  • A synopsis of the dissertation must be submitted electronically. The synopsis should not exceed 25 double-spaced, typewritten pages and must be accompanied by a one-page abstract. The abstract and references do not count toward the page limit. The author should eliminate all identifiable references to individuals and places that might bias reviewers. The synopsis should be emailed to the address below in Microsoft Word .doc or .docx format.
  • The applicant's contact information and letter of support should be separate files from the synopsis of the dissertation.
  • The deadline for receipt of papers is July 15 has been extended to September 30, 2023

Evaluation/Award Procedures

  • Each dissertation synopsis will be reviewed by a panel of ATE Research Committee members using the following criteria:
    1. Definition of the problem or question is stated clearly.
    2. Rationale for the investigation is persuasive.
    3. Research approach is adequate/appropriate for the problem and rationale.
    4. Conclusion(s) or interpretation(s) are grounded in the data.
    5. Contribution of the study to Teacher Education.
  • The recipient of the ATE Distinguished Dissertation Teacher Education Award will be expected to make a presentation on the dissertation and to attend the award ceremonies at the ATE Annual Meeting in February.
  • The recipient must bring thirty (30) copies of a summary (not less than five (5) nor more than fifteen (15) pages) of the dissertation to ATE's Annual Meeting. 

All further information regarding this award can be obtained from:

Dr. Laveria Hutchison
      Houston University

Dr. Tony Talbert
      Texas Tech University

Past Recipients

Robert F. Schuck Distinguished Dissertation
in Teacher Education Award

2023 Logan Rutten, Penn State University

 2022 TeKyesha (TK) Anderson
 University of Central Arkansas
 2021 Aimee Hardy Barber
 University of Florida
 2020  Meaghan A. Kessler  University of Illinois - Champaign-Urbana
 2019  Christian Fischer
 University of Michigan


 Dara Micgelle Hall  James Madison University
 2017  Barrett Wade McCoy Petty  University of Central Arkansas
 2016  Christina Berchini  University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
 2015  Melanie M. Frizzell  Clark Atlanta University
 2014  Charlene Sue Martin  Oral Roberts University
 2013  Cecilia Hernandez  New Mexico State University
 2012  Romena M. Garrett Holbert  The Ohio State University
 2011  Lydia Criss Mays  Georgia State University
 2010  Una McGinley Sarno’  University College - Dublin, Ireland
 2009  Renu Ahuja  Morgan State University
 2008  Melissa D. Boston  University of Pittsburgh
 2007  Rachelle D. Meyer  Baylor University
 2006  Wendy Wyman  Colorado State University
 2005  Jeanne L. Paynter  University of Maryland-Baltimore County
 2004  Gale Seiler  University of Maryland-Baltimore County
 2003  Jacquelyn W. Jenson  Eastern Kentucky University
 2002  Nita A. Paris  University of Georgia
 2001  Diane Yendol Silva  Pennsylvania State University
 2000  Leann Moore  Texas A&M University-Commerce
 1999  Charlene Fleener  Old Dominion University
 1998  Melinda Scholl Wilder  Eastern Kentucky University
 1997  Anna L. Andes  Association of University Churches
 1996  Susan K. Slick  University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
 1995  Donna H. Foss  University of Central Arkansas
 1994  Janell Wilson  Jacksonville State University
 1993  Lois M. Campbell  Pennsylvania State University
 1992  Mark Schelske  St. Olaf College
 1991  Kim K. Metcalf  Southwest Missouri State University
 1990  Julie Kolisek  University of Nebraska-Lincoln
 1989  Marilyn B. Trotter  Ohio State University
 1988  Brenda K. Stallion  Ohio State University
 1987  Esther Moore Howard  Mississippi State University
 1986  Deborah Black  University of Maryland-College Park
 1985  Joan L. Offedahl  University of Nebraska-Lincoln
 1984  Linda S. Tafel  Northern Illinois University
 1983  Constance V. Hines  Ohio State University
 1982  Leslie Huling  Texas Tech University
   Barbara K. Ringenberger  Florida State University
 1981  Sharon L. Young  University of Colorado-Boulder

Follow our activities

Contact Us -
     Email: Click here
     Phone: (703) 659-1708    

Association of Teacher Educators
     P.O. Box 793
     Manassas, VA 20113