

## Duaine C. Lang Distinguished Mentoring Award <a href="https://www.ate1.org/awards.html">https://www.ate1.org/awards.html</a>

## **Duaine C. Lang Distinguished Mentoring Award**

Sponsored by the Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Fund

The Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education is pleased to sponsor the Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Award. Duaine C. Lang belonged to ATE before it was ATE – the original name of the group was the Association for Student Teaching. He was president of ATE in 1974-75. He was named a Distinguished Member and given ATE Presidential Service awards in 1985, 1988, and 1995 from three subsequent Presidents of the Association.

Duaine C. Lang was instrumental in the establishment of the Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education (LFTE) and could be seen at conferences at the raffle table and keeping the records behind the scenes. He was also very active in the Indiana state ATE unit. Duaine C. Lang is remembered for establishing the Roadrunners, doctoral students who supervised student teachers at Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana. He mentored these students and others into ATE and into leadership positions. Four of his protégés went on to be ATE presidents: Peggy Elliott, Jan Towslee, Shirley Robards and Tom Buttery. In addition, his protégés have served on the board of directors and on many committees, commissions, and task forces.

Originally from Nebraska, Duaine C. Lang spent most of his career at Indiana University. He was at Butler University in Indianapolis prior to moving to Bloomington. His three children and later four of his grandchildren attended ATE Summer conferences, a real family affair.

The Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Award is available to any ATE member. Protégées should write a letter detailing why their mentor should be honored. One additional letter of support is also needed. The Mentor will be awarded a plaque and a donation to his/her state or regional unit will be made in his/her name. If there is no such unit the donation will be made to the ATE Leadership Academy. The LFTE Advisory Council will select a recipient at the summer conference.

The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting.

## **Application Procedures:**

- Protégé writes a letter nominating a mentor, who must be an ATE member
- One additional letter of support required.
- Letters must be sent to:

Dr. Cynthia S. Haggard 1375 Park 33 Blvd. #808 Goshen, IN 46526 Deadline: July 15th